formal gardens next to the Louvre in Paris palace and royal residence built for Catherine de Medicis in 1564 and burned down in 1871; all that remains today are the formal gardens
French royal residence, adjacent to the Louvre in Paris, destroyed by arson in 1871. The original palace, commissioned by Catherine de Médicis, was begun in 1564 by Philibert Delorme ( 1515-1570); the next 200 years saw numerous additions and alterations by Jean Bullant (1520?-1578), Jacques du Cerceau ( 1520-1585), Louis Le Vau (1612-1670), and others. The Tuileries Gardens have changed little since Andre Le Notre redesigned them in 1664. His design extended the central walkway beyond the gardens and out into the countryside to the hilltop west of the palace, where the Arc de Triomphe now stands
tuileries
Hyphenation
Tui·ler·ies
Pronunciation
Etymology
() From French Tuileries from tuileries, feminine plural of tuilerie (“place for manufacturing tiles”). The name comes from the tile kilns which occupied the site before the palace.